News‎ > ‎

DeKalb FFA is awarded the Big Ten Award for best FFA chapter in 2014

posted Jun 23, 2014, 9:36 AM by webmaster dhs   [ updated Jun 23, 2014, 9:37 AM ]

-WEST LFAYETTE – Members of DeKalb FFA attended the 2014 State FFA Convention at Purdue University June 16th - 20th. Here, Rachel Haynes & McKenna Clifford repeated as state demonstration champions.  Their demonstration of ‘How to Make Maple Syrup’ won the state food science demonstration title. Clifford said “this demonstration took a lot of time, and it is exciting to see this hard work & dedication pay off.”  Other students Erin Sukala & Reba Clifford won the division 2 food microbiology agriscience fair state title for their experiment in fermentation of sugars & sugar substitutes.  Leah Hefty won division 3 animal systems agriscience fair with her investigation of algae byproduct used as a feed source in animal nutrition.  The agriculture mechanics team of Lake Evans, Tyler Foster, & Landon LaRowe finished as reserve state champions.  Each student received a $7500.00 scholarship.

The DeKalb FFA finished top in the state again by receiving the coveted Big Ten Award that is given to the state’s best FFA chapters.  Indiana FFA analyzes different aspects of leadership, cooperation, citizenship, recruitment, and more.  DeKalb FFA made the state’s top 10 chapters through philanthropies like ‘Tailgate for Troops,’ where the local FFA chapter tailgates and gives all proceeds to the wounded warrior project.  This is the third year in a row where DeKalb FFA has won this award.


-PHOTO CAPTION: Members of the DeKalb FFA pose with their awards. DeKalb was named a Top Ten Chapter in Indiana.  Front Row (left): McKenna Clifford, Rachel Haynes, LeAnna Shearer, Ellen Shearer, Erin Sukala, and Reba Clifford.  Back Row (left): FFA Advisor Matt Dice, Lake Evans, Preston Jennings, Tyler Foster, and Kylee Stout.