News‎ > ‎

DeKalb musicians win state awards

posted Mar 5, 2014, 1:19 PM by webmaster dhs   [ updated Mar 5, 2014, 1:20 PM ]
Excerpts from the Star--Waterloo--DeKalb High School band members won awards at the Indiana State School Music Association State Solo and Ensemble contest on Saturday in Indianapolis.
     Solo results:  Gold: flute--Mallorie McCoy, Hannah Johnston;  soprano saxophone--Mary Burris;  trumpet--Adam Heller; french horn--Maddie Hanes; trombone--Jacob Burris; marimba--Megan Stonestreet; snare drum--JT Foley, Lucas Straw, Dominick Rainelli.
     Silver:  flute--Jessica Dye; clarinet--Trisha Lee; alto saxophone--Mariah Escamilla, Jacob Bainbridge; trumpet--Jacob God; trombone--Logan Gensic
Ensemble results:  Gold:  flute trio--Jessica Dye, Kelsey Aldrich, Mallorie McCoy; clarinet trio--Jerrica Hidy,  Brandon Bishop, Trisha Lee; large woodwind ensemble--Jessica Dye, Mallorie McCoy, Kelsey Aldrich, Brandon Bishop, Trisha Lee, Ericka Poling, Jordan McDaniel, Julio Padilla, Rachael Finchum, Alexis Darling, Dilan Frain, Reena Ramos.
     Silver:  flute trio--Olivia Marsh, Molly Stoy, Abigail Lynch;  flute quartet--Hannah Walls, Jessica Dye, Hannah Johnston, Mallorie McCoy;  saxophone quartet--Brycen Spangler, Jordan McDaniel, Julio Padilla, Rachael Finchum